Transitoire

By Transitoire

Il pleut (un peu)

Only joking, it has rained a lot today. Anything from to a light drizzle to absolutely lashing it down. However, the temperature has actually been rather nice...don't think I've needed more than a light jacket the entire time I've been here! Typical English, talking about the weather...
Dashed out to take this photo of the River Orne while it wasn't too rainy. My school is so close to this and to the centre-ville, I really am lucky!

Had a "normal" troisième class, and oh boy they were not in the mood to play ball! Luckily that was all directed at the poor teacher and not me; I'm still seen as a nice novelty that is happy to give them the answers in French (well they ask nicely!). They were meant to be doing small sketches in which one of them was looking for a room, while the other was looking for a new roommate, but no one wanted to go to the front of the class and speak. Typical teenagers to be honest, I don't think I would have wanted to either! However, this does makes things very difficult when you are trying to teach them - although none of the more advanced kids seemed too bothered that the lesson wasn't going to plan!
Quite a telling question though: "Why do I have to speak English?", with the answer being "Because the English don't speak French." I know the answer was aimed at a disgruntled French teenager, but you can't help but feel embarrassed for your entire country sometimes! It is a lot harder to teach and help those that don't speak English as well as the bilingual kids in the International Section because sometimes I just don't know the right word to help them, so I have to explain it to them in such a roundabout way it makes me cringe sometimes. Well, at least I'm learning French!

Words I have learnt today:-
- Messy - désordonné
- Tidy - rangé
- To get along well with... - s'entendre bien avec...
- Easygoing - facile à vivre
- Shy - timide
- Quiet - calme
- Loud - bruyant
- Scholarship - bourse
- weeping willow - sol pleurant (cheers Tom!)

Spend a pleasant evening with Becky, Claire and Thomas but didn't go to meet the others (again!) as I just don't want to get ill again! Tomorrow is my longest day in school, so will definitely be knackered by the evening. Will probably still go out for drinks though if everyone is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.