Another island

A beautiful day today after a sharp frost. I drove up to Port Appin, some 30 minutes away, and took the passenger ferry across to the northern tip of the island of Lismore, which translates as the 'Great Garden'. Lismore is unusual in being an island of limestone when there's very little else of it around. 

I walked up to the ridge of the island and enjoyed seeing the snowy mountains of Morvern - and Ben Nevis in the distance to the north. I even took a picture of Glensanda as my extra for the day. Glensanda was once a Viking settlement but is now a superquarry which exports granite in all forms across Northern Europe - everything goes out by sea. It's not quite as close as my extra shows it!

I came back after a couple of hours in which I saw nobody, but did see many sheep, a snipe, a heron, a wren and many other birds. A peaceful place to spend a few hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.