Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Lunch Interrupted (Mine and His)

I went looking for eagles with Piper and her dad this morning.  We had a nice walk on this beautiful day but there were no eagles to be found.  We picked up lunch on our way home and we were just sitting down to eat when our daughter texted, "The eagles are posing on the SW side of Mac".  So I ate much too fast and hurried off to MacIntosh Lake, a few miles from home.  When I got there I saw a photographer heading back to his car.  He said two eagles had been there for quite a while and had just flown a few minutes before I got there.  He pointed way across the lake to a power pole where one of them was now perched.  He said that I couldn't get a decent shot from that angle but I drove around anyway and I was actually pretty happy with my shots.  I believe this is a male based on size but it's hard for me to tell unless the pair is together.  Anyway, the blood on his beak is there because I interrupted his lunch.  I added three extras and the last one shows his partially eaten fish...so don't look at that one if you're easily grossed out!

I am grateful for my friends and family who are always on the lookout for a blip for me.  And I am grateful that I didn't believe that I couldn't get a good shot from this angle. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.