A very cold night...

...more snow.
But then bright blue skies.
The sun came out.

The sun doesn’t reach the ground of my garden this time of year, I am a bit too high up. But it does touch the top of my trees and bushes.

This painting sketch was a race against time.
You know that blue cold look snow has when there is no sun.
Well, as the sun touched the tips of the snow covered trees and bushes, it turns the blue snow into that gorgeous yellow.
I was trying to capture that yellow on the cherry trees, and budlieia (I cannot spell that word, and spellcheck is coming up with some stupid variations on it) seedheads.
Then a few moments later as the sun gets brighter and more white the tops of the snowy budlieia seedheads and snowy tree branches turn white.

So I was trying to get the top bit of snow white, then the main bit a creamy yellow white, and the bottom bit a blue white.

Not too bad for a half hour sketch methinks.

The snow on the tops of trees has lost that creamy yellow colour now.

Thank you for all your lovely comments, and stars, and faves.

There were a couple of posts I didn’t have time to reply to your comments. I do like to reply to all comments, but I cannot always manage it. I still read all of your comments and appreciate them greatly.

The snow is melting fast. It is falling off the trees and budlieia seedheads now. This scene I painted above a few minutes ago is changing completely.

I noticed people with 4x4’s have ventured out in their cars this morning. But the rest of us ordinary mortals with smaller saloon cars are still in their driveways, including those who are normally at work by now.

So maybe tomorrow it will be safe to venture down the steep hill...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.