My favourite book

As I've mentioned before, my favourite book is A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. Every few years I re-read the unabridged version at this time of year. A few years ago I treated myself to this special illustrated hardback edition which I love. You reveal these initial illustrations as you open the front cover - just wonderful. They are drawn by Robert Ingpen and are faithful to the descriptions that Dickens penned in the book. 

In the introduction it says 'early in 1843, as a response to a government report on the abuse of child labourers in mines and factories, Dickens vowed he would strike a 'sledge-hammer blow.......on behalf of the Poor Man's Child'.' I've also read that he wrote it in only 6 weeks to ensure it was published in time for Christmas and it became an immediate bestseller. If you've only seen the films I urge you to read the unabridged text.

Dickens had this to say about A Christmas Carol:

I have endeavoured in this Ghostly little book, to raise the Ghost of an Idea, which shall not put my readers out of humour with themselves, with each other, with the season, or with me. May it haunt their houses pleasantly, and no one wish to lay it.

Their faithful Friend and Servant,
C. D.
December, 1843

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.