An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

On a cold and frosty morning...

We headed to Cumbernauld today to meet up with our friend Ian who is currently off work recovering from recent surgery.  It was a relief to see him looking so well and felt funny to be back on our old stomping ground.

Once home,  we popped down to the High Street to do a couple of errands and as we drove back up the road David said, "there's Ally and Alan walking down to the shops" and peeped the horn while I waved like mad from the passenger seat.  It was only when we were level with them I realised I was waving and grinning like a lunatic at a young mum out pushing her child in a pushchair.  Ally and Alan were on the other side of the road where David was directing his wave!  And that's me with my contact lenses in!  I suspect that poor woman is wracking her brains tonight trying to figure out who it was waving so enthusiastically to her.  

Alan had a lovely swim this afternoon with Jordan and Ally and David.  On his way to the pool Alan brought with him two red envelopes, one for his dad and one for me, and we agreed we would go through to his sitting room once he'd had his swim and open them.

Once he was dried and dressed and back in situ we took Lola and went through.  He was really excited at the prospect of us opening the envelopes, which was lovely.  David opened his to find a lovely Christmas card from Alan and a beautiful tree decoration.  I opened mine to find the same.  I could hardly speak, I was so touched.  I will blip them tomorrow and you'll see why.

It was a perfectly timed gesture as it's 10 years ago today since David's mum died and she was always the one who took Alan to chose birthday and Christmas cards and gifts for David and me.  She'd already done that just before she passed away so it's ten years since we've had a card from Alan and it was like getting a little message from her.

When your child has a disability as severe as Alan's, you just accept that they are not able to do simple things like buy you a Christmas card unless someone helps them and I would never ask anyone to do it as people have enough on their plates at Christmas.  And it's such a small, silly thing in the grand scheme of things but I can tell you, we will absolutely treasure those cards and those little tree decorations.

Miss you more than words can say Mum L, especially at this time of year.  The best Mother-in-law a girl could wish for.  A mum, a best friend and a partner in crime all rolled into one.  I miss having someone to share the Sloe gin with on Christmas morning but instead of just having one, I have yours too.  I know you would approve :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.