Walking on thin ice

I watched this bird skate across the semi-frozen pond in the Royal Botanic Garden this afternoon. It was rather amusing when he(?) trod on some thin ice and unexpectedly disappeared under water for a few seconds.

I walked to the garden as an alternative to cycling today. Earlier in the afternoon I actually set out on wheels for an hour's ride. However, after about 15 minutes I concluded that I wasn't enjoying the level of concentration required to avoid skidding on the icy paths. It was also very cold again and I was not prepared to put myself through the misery of frozen fingers a second time (see yesterday's blip).

Tomorrow will be my first day at work for a week so much of today has been spent preparing for a very busy Wednesday of catching up.

I have also done as much as I can to help prepare for our Christmas drinks party on Saturday . I"ve been checking the number of acceptances, stocktaking ingredients in kitchen cupboard for the food that we will be making, counting bottles of fizz in the cellar, buying provisions etc. The more I do now, the less there is for Mr hazelh to do on his own on Friday while I am at work.

Exercise today: short, abandoned, cycle ride (20 minutes); walking (14,471 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.