Snow Horse

To Harold's Park Farm plantation to get my Christmas tree. Three quarters of the way up the hill, to one of the highest spots in Essex, the van protested. The wheels span on the ice and it would go no further. Luckily a couple of guys appeared and put their shoulders into it. The farmer said that he didn't get a single customer last Sunday. :( I love it up there. Once I'd loaded my tree I went for a walk. It was beautifully bright but strangely the view of Shard, twenty-five miles away, was obscured by a light mist.

I saw redwings and fieldfares and chatted to the horses. I love the umbrellas on the coat of the one in my pic and its hoof boots. Also I can 'see' a dog's head in its back leg. :) The road curving in the distance leads to Lodge Farm, which I often visit, on the other side of the valley.

Today's poem is Love by Robert Browning. Can't find a link so I've typed it out.

So, the year's done with!
(Love me for ever!)
All March began with,
April's endeavour;
May-wreaths that bound me
June needs must sever;
Now snows fall round me,
Quenching June's fever -
(Love me for ever!)

Elizabeth Barrett Browning and Robert Browning believed that their marriage was eternal. He outlived his wife by 28 years and never remarried.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.