Flood

I'm using my old 7D as the MkII has gone in for repair. Somehow I've damaged the mechanism that holds the lens in place. :(

After a trip to Epping I headed for Fishers Green to check on the bittern. I couldn't get to the hide as the bridge was closed. :( The heavens opened as I returned to the car and the sky went black. Then an eerie storm light lit up the high ground as the sun went down. I was going to post a pic of the sky with its coloured shafts of light as today is St Lucy's Day. In the past the 13th December was considered to be the shortest day. Her name means light, she fed the poor in the catacombs with a wreath of candles on her head so that both of her hands were free to carry food.

The road was flooded in quite a few places on the way home.

Today's poem is A Nocturnal upon Saint Lucy's Day, Being The Shortest Day by John Donne. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/44122/a-nocturnal-upon-st-lucys-day

The poem mourns the death of a loved woman, it might be JD's wife Ann, his daughter Lucy or his patron, Lucy, Countess of Bedford.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.