To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

In Our Lifetime

About four years ago, shortly after the incredibly disheartening re-election of the second President Bush, my husband asked me what I thought we'd see first -- a female President or a Black President. At the time it seemed like such a fanciful question, as if he asked me what two books I'd take with me to a desert island. After some thought, I answered, "I think we'll see a Black President before we see a female one. But I don't see it happening any time soon." My answer surprised my husband; he thought I would say, "Female."

He then asked, "Do you think we'll ever see a Black President in our lifetime?" I said, "Probably not. But I hope our [then unborn] child will see it."

I thought of that conversation today. I can't believe that it was only four years ago. And I'm so glad I was so wrong.


"So let us mark this day with remembrance, of who we are and how far we have traveled." - President Barack Obama, inaugural address

Reject

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.