Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Coffee? No. Tea? Yes!

Had a coffee this morning and didn't really enjoy it. Mmm.

Went out to Dobbies with Uncle A for a jaunt, perchance to have lunch. Well, I just didn't feel like anything cooked, even though there was much to tempt me normally. I had a scone (no jam, no cream) and a cup of tea. Uncle A had a bowl of soup, as many croutons as he could fit on the top, two hunks of bread... and then went and got this meringue! It was humungous. I had to hold him back while I took a few photos. In fact, in the shot of him eating it, you wouldn't think a human jaw could open that wide!

While in Dobbie's the huge gardening retailers, I thought I'd look for a proper plant mister spray thingie. Could I find one? Had to ask in the end, and the lady took me all over again, then two of them took me all over to possible places. We came to the conclusion there was none left. There must have been a run on them. Blippers getting ready for wet winter days' indoor flower blips with lovely misty dew drops on them, perchance?

There was a woman going round shouting, 'Charlotte!' all the time. She was still shouting this quite a while later, but louder. It must be a terrible feeling. It's such a big big place, you could turn round and a toddler wanders off in a moment. I do hope they were reunited.

Also had a fiddle with my new TiVo box this morning. It has a bit called 'Recording Hiccups' - ie where you haven't done it properly for some reason or other. It was rather full with last night's 'recordings'. Try again tonight. It can't be that hard!

The chap who set it up was charming. He was fiddling away pressing this and that button, and I gasped that he'd need a degree in technology. He said he had a degree in painting and ceramics. That explained why he was looking round and admiring my big painting. He was pleased to see that people buy original art, to keep artists going.

Back home. Cup of tea. I do hope I'm not off coffee for ever!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.