Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Grumpiness cured with profiteroles

Did some more packing this morning, then organised the things I needed to take down to the PO for redirecting the mail.

I needed a passport/driving license and two different utility bills/ council tax/ bank statement etc. No problem. Then I read, ‘… dated within the last 3 months’.. Oops. Problem. I have the TV license from January 2012, clearly stating that:

‘This is the last paper license you’ll receive until 2016’

I updated my TV License address online and noted that I could ‘Print out your license’. So I did. I also did that with my latest utility bill. Sorted.

Er, NO. A computer print out is not proof that of address. I need a paper copy sent to my address.

‘But I only get online bills and online bank statements…’

‘You will have to ring the Post Office Customer Services and complain...’

I was very grumpy! Stomped up the High Street. These two headless folk were standing there. And another headless person was nearby. I think would-be street performers must all subscribe to the same magazine/check the same website for new ideas. The first headless person I saw in the summer was fun, but they're ten a penny now. And three of 'em all together? Too much. I stomped off to the bus to go and meet JR.

We had to go and collect the boxes from the auction place at Rosewell. Not paying attention and suddenly we were rather near to the big funnels at Cockenzie Power Station - ie half way to North Berwick. Wrong! Back round the by-pass.

Boxes collected, and I then wasted half an hour of my life in a humungous new shop that sold everything. It was mobbed. Of course, the obligatory screeching muzak, which made it worse. It’s only been open a week. We also looked in at sofa shop and I wasted another half hour of my life. Screechy muzak there too to enhance my shopping experience…

Pretty grumpy by this time… Stopped to get milk at the Co-op. JR was ages. Came back loaded to the gunnels with a ‘meal deal’ for £5 - garlic bread, pizza, and a huge amount (8) of profiteroles. The new diet starts in the new house, so the day has been saved. Profiteroles and coffee, then wine and pizza. That sounds healthy!

PS Just watched the Panorama interview with Malala Yousafzai. She really should have got the Nobel Peace Prize. The organisation that won (OPCW) is doing the job it’s paid for. Malala is speaking out for the rights of all girls to have an education, despite being shot at point blank range and the ongoing threat to her life. She is amazing.

PPS JR insists I mention the spinach and rocket salad also in the meal deal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.