Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A Smart Dresser!*

Uncle A and I went to inspect the spec of a new development of retirement flats that he may be interested in. I was very impressed. But it’s Uncle A who has to make the big decision. He’s fine where he is for the mo (although his two flights of stairs just about kill me, even when I’m not laden with shopping bags).

We then went to a little bistro where our oak dresser ended up. And I must say, it looks great. I had a very nice scone and home made raspberry jam.

This afternoon I have been out on an assignation. It felt a bit like a drugs drop - not that I’ve been on one - but

1) I didn’t know the person I was meeting
2) I had a big bag of stuff
3) Money changed hands
4) Minimum verbal communication
5) The other person rushed off with the big bag
6) I flashed my money around after the deal
...

Last night K rang about buying a couple of TV box sets I’d advertised on Gumtree.

‘Do you do deliveries?’
‘Er, no…’


Eventually we found a common bus stop, a time was set, and at a venue known to both. Frisky. I treated myself to one after the event, of course.

The CCTV footage from the shop is probably being studied by police as we speak...

* Sorry, Uncle A, I didn't mean you...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.