Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Under attack.

I went early to the estuary this morning and was amazed at the bird numbers that aren't there later in the day. Two pied stilts were getting  hysterical and uttering warning cries so I guessed there were some chicks around.  It didn't take long to find then - just followed the noise of the parents.

Some of you may remember that I blipped a juvenile  pied stilt recently. The wee ones are nothing like it  - take a look in the extras at the two tiny puffballs that are going to transform into  sleek adults

The parents took turns at flying at me in a very threatening manner, shrieking as they went. They would come out of the sun aimed directly at my head and then skim over it at the last minute. The same thing was done on the return. So difficult to photograph while you are ducking for cover. The bird coming at me is my Blip today.

In the extras is one of the parents and their dear little puff balls of  chicks. Just too far away for a good pic.

Neither of today's pics are good. But the subject matter is interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.