Life Savors

By osuzanna

Mockingbird

After WRPerry went back to these trees that we visited a few weeks ago and told me about all the bird activity, I decided to brave the bitter cold and go there this morning.  It was worth it. There were Bluebirds, Mockingbirds, Chickadees and a Northern Flicker, all enjoying the berries. 

It was very cold, in the teens with wind chill in the single digits (that’s Fahrenheit, folks, so about -13 Celsius).  I wore multiple layers, long underwear and still had to go back to the car periodically to warm up. 

While I was shooting continuously with my Sony A7R2, I experienced a problem that was new to me.  The camera would shoot for while and then give me a message that there was a problem and that I needed to turn the camera off and back on.  In fact, I had to remove the battery and reinsert it to get the message to disappear.  This happened several times, and more and more frequently until finally, I stopped using it.   Fortunately, I had the RX10iv with me and I was able to continue shooting.  When I got home, I googled this and apparently, others have experienced this same problem in extreme cold when shooting in continuous mode. At least I know nothing is broken. 

I have been trying to identify this tree as it is a kind that I have never seen before. After searching the web,  I finally posted a picture on the Capital Naturalist Facebook page.  Someone actually knew exactly where they were and they were identified as an invasive species called Castor Aralia trees.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.