hpx

By hpx

Perspective

Perspective counts for a lot.

I went for a walk at lunch time and spotted the light on this roof (part of what's known as 'The Copper Top' at the University of Canterbury). At first glance it looks like the roof is somehow peeling off the side of the building but of course it's not.

When I got up this morning I noted a the last remnants of what would have been an amazing sunrise - if only I was up a little earlier.

I'd just left for work and as I biked past the local park I spotted a great blip (2 large sprinklers from opposing angles watering the cricket pitch, with a guy standing to one side and the scene back-lit by the sun).

Today I left my camera at home as I thought I'd use the work camera at lunch time. Home was only a couple of hundred metres away, I hesitated and nearly turned back to grab mine, but then I would have been 10mins late etc etc.

7.30am and I've already had two "if onlys"!

As new work arrived in my inbox and a few (albeit unintentionally) demanding people tracked me down, I started to think about perspective.

That is the beauty of a good holiday, it gives perspective. It's up to me if I want to keep that perspective or choose another that erodes my well being, contentment and balance.

The sprinkler will be on again another day, emails can easily convey a tone not intended, the work will get done in time, the sun will rise tomorrow and no one died.

On yeah, and each blip doesn't have to be technically perfect, please other people or be a major stress. Whether I'm 35 or 350 blips on, I need to enjoy doing it, be open to new opportunities and happy to learn.

Yep, it was a good day :) By the time I biked home even my perspective on the stiff nor'easterly head wind was changed. I just chose a lower gear and pedaled quicker.

(and the Guzamania I blipped yesterday is alive and well. Thanks to all who commented. I'm encouraged to try bipping it again sometime).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.