The Cancelled Train and other problems

Please take a seat, it’s been one of THOSE days...this is a bit of a rant.

The wonderful sight and sound of a steam train chugging past is one to behold on any given day but perhaps more so after I’d stood freezing on the platform for an hour and a half due to a cancelled 08:46 scheduled train service for my short 16 minute journey.

Ten minutes after my morning commuter train was due to arrive it transpires it had broken down due to de-icing solution on the track causing the train to ‘slide off the rails’. A further 11 minutes later and the train races by at breakneck speed leaving a dozen of us none too amused!

I message my boss to say I’m going to be a bit later than first thought then my phone promptly turns off despite having 76% battery!

The electronic sign flashes up next train service due in 42 minutes. The friendly station attendant ventures out of her warm office over the bridge to Platform 2 to let us know of the cancelled service apologising for any inconvenience. She offers a refund for anyone choosing not to travel. A lady mutters “Well I WILL! I’ve now missed my Christmas hair appointment!” She looked cross as she told her grandson to “Hurry along!”

A bitterly cold and damp 44 minutes later - after I passed the time chatting to my dad on the phone troubleshooting my frozen car lock issue - and a slow train pulls up to the village platform, hesitated as if stopping then continues at a slow speed!!

By now we were starting to get a little peeved. Someone pipes up: “South Eastern get fined if more than 10% of services are delayed.”

I reply: “I guess the simple solution is to abandon the rural commuters and dish out a few refunds?”

A smart looking older gentleman in flat cap and wool coat retorts: “Hmmm, if the passengers can face the lengthy and complicated online refund form and wait 28 days IF the train company deem the disruption to be sufficiently eligible!”

Much nodding, tuts and groans from all of us as we walk in defeat over the bridge to a warm waiting room to find out what’s going on.

Another 17 minutes later (slightly warmed up) and finally a train pulls up at the station. Message my boss to let her know I’m finally on the way. My phone has sprung back to life and shows 6% battery despite 30 mins on the remote charger. I don’t think it likes the cold.

I eventually arrive at my desk 1 hour 20 minutes late. Luckily my boss was as perplexed as me at the train service but it put us on the back foot with a pre-record radio interview scheduled with Heart FM for later in the morning.

Luckily interviews and press is my bread and butter and my boss (the Film Officer) is well-versed in radio interviews herself so between us we pulled out the relevant facts and figures and trotted over to the council radio studio.

A frustrating 30 minutes and several phone calls later and the interview goes ahead on one mobile recorded with another as the ISDN line isn’t working!

“So far the day is not going to plan,” my boss observes. “I’m sure it’ll get better and great interview!” I reply.

Fast forward to 6pm and we leave the office somewhat worn out. The phone system transferred over to Skype without us being told and no one could get through so every call went to voicemail. Outlook Email locked us out and my internet kept crashing while updating the website.

It was a bit chaotic with my boss tearing her hair out with the phone debacle while I tried to plough through my work. At one stage I wrote that Gary Oldman was starring in the Call the Midwife Christmas Special but I spotted my mistake before I hit publish! It gave us a giggle anyway.

The train was only 3 minutes late homeward bound. So far so good. Perhaps all these hiccups are due to the cold weather or maybe it’s Mercury being in Retrograde again?

Whatever the reason I’m battening down the hatches this evening to avoid any further ‘blips’! Phew! Hope you’ve had a less frustrating day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.