A 24-year Book Share

A few weeks ago, I (Annie) read an article on the news about a girl who'd been left a letter of advice from her mum after her death. That led me to think about a note my own mum wrote to my then boyfriend (different) Chris on his 21st birthday. She died of cancer around 2 months later.

I couldn't remember what it said exactly, but I remembered it seemed profound at the time - and very mum. She was a special lady. I wondered whether he still had it - sure he wouldn't, as it was in a large encyclopedia and he'd moved continents since then. Worth asking though, as we'd parted on good terms (but a long time ago)... Using the power of the Internet, I tracked him down and sent a polite "Hello! Hope you don't mind me getting in touch, but I have a random question...".

And it turned out he did still have it - on his study shelves - having travelled from the UK to the US and a few moves across the US as well. He immediately sent me a photo of it, and I was blown away seeing the text I remembered being written and my mum's distinctive writing. It says:

"To Chris, on your 21st birthday,

Remember that you'll get facts from here, but for wisdom you must contemplate, and reflect, and think hard, and disbelieve some of them, and discuss long and hard with your friends - but you're a scientist, so you understand all that anyway.

With love from Judy and John"

It has totally blown me away to see that writing again as I still miss my mum with a keenness 24 years later. But - more than that - I am astounded and grateful that someone would keep their ex-girlfriend's mum's writing in an encyclopedia in the age of Wikipedia. (Different) Chris - thank you so much - the fact that my mum was so special to you too means more to me than you can imagine.

Finally - to make things even more amazing - he's carefully packaged it up, posted it from the US and in his words, "sent it home". Here it is - sat in our living room - all these years later. We've agreed on a 24-year book share - I'd better put a note in my diary for 2041. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.