Cr055ie

By Cr055ie

Secret Santa Catherine Wheels

Spent most of the evening making small gifts for a group of young people I work with, they are all young carers and look after either a parent or sibling.  None of them see themselves as special but I really do.  They decided they wanted to do a secret Santa with a twist, all the gifts have to be hand made.  We have all chosen a name for the person we are making our gift for,  I have  made a ribbed bobble hat for my young lady.  I need to trim and tidy the huge pom pom up but it will stay huge because they seem to be the rage at the moment 

Because of Phil's  surgery I can't be there when they swap their gifts which I am quite sad about, but to salve my conscience have made all of the young people and staff some snowman soup packs (hot chocolate with marsh mallows and chocolate chips).  I need to add the Christmas sparkle and candy canes tomorrow so i might blip those when they are finished.  I have melted another load of chocolate to make one or two reindeer for all of them, and I have made all the girls a Catherine wheel decoration.  Tomorrow I will try and make some peg soldiers for the boys - I can;t miss them out. I will deliver them to the project on Sunday then they will be there when the kids meet up on Tuesday. 

A real labour of love, and a delight to make something for such a wonderful bunch of kids - yeap kids! That is what they become again when they are with us, and it's wonderful to see.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.