Home comforts

How to explain? How to describe? Even the omniscient viewpoint quails.

I leave Owen’s before seven and drive through frosty Scotland. At home, I light the fire to drive off five days of chill.

I make an excursion to Broughton to get my bonnet fixed. Paul gets it closed temporarily, but it’ll need a replacement part. At least it’s fine for now, as long as I don’t need to get into the engine compartment.

At teatime Will, Wilma, Alan and I head into town for the annual festive Tanjore night out. Brian and Dave are already there. Roddy is lurking on the street.

The food is even better than I remember. Curried goat for starter, followed by a baby aubergine dosa. Banana dosai for pud. We repair to the Cask & Barrel (Southside) for a swift pint before Sandra arrives to whisk us back to Paulswell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.