Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Fattening up for winter?

Okay, I am just going to get the bad news out of the way first. I don't think the finch made it. I slept a little late this morning and when I went out to fill the feeders, there was a pretty sizable number of finch feathers under one of them. No signs of a body, which makes me think a hawk may have gotten it. I just hope it was quick. Ugh. This part of nature sucks.

In happier news, I saw my first wooly bear caterpillar of the season. It was making it's way across our driveway when I went down to get the paper, so I helped it along to a safer spot.

Off to the farm to get some fresh-picked kale for dinner, and a stop at Kittatinny where I took this shot of a fuzzy bee on the wild flowers. Also saw...

A hovering hoverfly

A non-hovering hoverfly

And my favorite wild flower chicory with a bit of fall foliage in the background

I very nearly gave you the cheerful chicory as today's blip, just based on all your very flattering comments on yesterday's tearful gerbera. (Thank you all so much!) But I threw caution to the wind and decided to give you a bee instead! I used my 18-200 F/3.5 lens - I haven't used it much lately and had forgotten just what a nice lens it is. Of course, it was NO good for the small flock of pine warblers I saw at the lake. Crap. Oh well.

Getting ready to put bread in the oven. Soon the house is going to smell lip-smackingly delicious! (That last brought to you by the Prince of Darkness, Rocket Cat.)

I am woefully behind on comments right now - I'm finding it a bit hard at the moment. Bear with me...

And happy Thursday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.