SecondSeason

By SecondSeason

Saturday Self-portrait

I had the best day!  

A few months ago I'd bought some snowshoes at Costco with the intention of starting snowshoeing this winter.  I'd never tried it but I had a feeling I would really enjoy it.  So a girlfriend and I signed up for a beginners snowshoe course today and along with 4 other women and 2 guides headed up to a snowy winter wonderland a 1 1/2 hour drive from here.  It was just beautiful! 

Temperatures not too cold, a mix of sun, clouds and lightly falling snow made the day just magical!  We snowshoed almost 9km (5 1/2 miles) around a few lakes and beautiful snow boughed trees.  We fed whiskey jack's (birds) from our hands as we ate lunch by a babbling brook, stood in awe as we enjoyed the beauty in nature and then crossed the lake to make it back to the van transporting us home.  A full 9 hour day from start to finish but oh so good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.