An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Lap Dog...

I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.”
― Douglas Adams
 
Another day has slipped by where I have only managed to achieve anything of what I set out to do.  

The Christmas cards were supposed to be completed (to be fair the bulk of them are but they are still sitting waiting to be posted!) till I realised I must have dreamt I had arranged special family cards to be delivered direct by Funky Pigeon!  No sign of them in my FP account.  Sigh. 

Christmas gifts were supposed to be wrapped and sorted by recipient, ready to drop off later in the week to those we won't see before Christmas.

My festive season menus were supposed to be finalised and the shopping lists written.

The final lesson before Christmas of my floral photography course was supposed to be completed and submitted.

The pile of ironing was supposed to be reduced (not cleared.  I'm a realist.)

Apart from the family Christmas cards, nothing else has been done.  I don't really know why other than I had a very long snooze in the chair this afternoon silly little things cropped up that needed my attention.

10.45pm and I didn't even have a Blip in the bag, so when Lola came and rested her head on my leg (her nightly signal that she wants up on my knee for a cuddle) it seemed as good a chance as I was going to get to nab my blip.

This ever growing bundle of fluff (who thinks she's a lap dog) makes my heart burst with love every day.   From the minute she greets me in the morning with her wagging tail and happy face to the moment she lets me give her her last cuddle before she trots off into her crate for the night, I give thanks for her presence in our lives.

I am astounded by how affectionate she is.  She actively comes looking for cuddles and kisses and loves nothing more than putting her paws around your neck and have you hold her in a bear hug!  

But it's when she folds herself into my lap and rests her head on my chest with her nose mere inches from mine and those brown eyes look right into my soul that I finally understand why people jump into raging seas and off cliffs to rescue their dogs.  I would do that for her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.