The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

What the Heck???

We saw these strange spongy balls on the ground during our walk in Anacortes today. You can see more on Chaikins of Bellingham. They were about the size of a small marble, soft to the touch, and could tear. They were very juicy and looked like large round drops of water. I tried to find something close to this on Google and came up with "edible water" which I am quite sure this isn't. But you never know. Really weird stuff. There was this little pile of it and individual balls in the tops of some of the ornamental cabbages planted nearby. I really haven't a clue.

I stayed over night at Dave and Nora's last night and woke to a quiet house. Soon after I made coffee Nora came down with Dexter who was ready to go out. In awhile Dave meandered down too and we shared waffles that Nora made for our breakfast. 

After breakfast we took Dexter for a walk in the rain. We walked down to the waterfront and that's where we saw these strange balls in a large planter box, near the rope factory.

When we got home Dave and I headed off to Janet's house for our monthly duplicate bridge game. Nancy was my partner. She was getting lackluster cards while mine were quite good. As we were playing I was pretty sure we'd be somewhere in the middle of the pack. We were both very surprised when we tied for first place. 

Dave and I headed home and spent some quiet time talking and having a drink and then Dave and Nora cooked together, making us a yummy dinner of Cuban potatoes, sautéed veggies and pork steaks. I ate a full plate. Not a diet day today. The meal was delicious. By then it was seven pm, time for me to head back up to Bellingham to take care of the kitties who had spent the night by themselves. They were happy to see me when I got home. 

I looked on Amazon... maybe it is these.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.