Santa Special

Humph... for some reason the shot I thought I posted for Saturday was actually allocated to Sunday. Rather than delete everything I've decided to add Sunday's blip to Saturday.

So, Sunday was another turn on the KESR Santa Specials. Last week I was in the signal box at Wittersham Road, this week in the Crossing Keeper's hut at Cranbrook Road.

In interesting day's weather. Freezing fog and -3c as I set out and +8 when I left. Moody, atmospheric conditions which led to lots of exhaust being blasted into the sky as the engines worked hard up the hill from Rolvenden past the hut and on to Tenterden, surely one of the most impressive sights and sounds on any heritage railway.

I couldn't decide which to post today. In the end, this got the nod as Santa is peeking out of the window of the rearmost coach. It was an 8 train service, each packed to the gunnels with people having a good time.

I had a trainee with me today, it was his first turn as a volunteer on the railway. He' s a retired professional photographer who, of course, still indulges with photography as a hobby now. As you can imagine, being in the company of a photographer in a little hut was very instructive. I learned from him and I hope he learned a bit about the railway from me. He did enthuse about the view of the railway from this location, especially in these conditions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.