Getting old

My owner, Ann, has a stinking cold so any little thing exhausts her. This morning she went to the 'Range' and 'B&M' to stock up on cleaning materials etc ready for when we rent out our Cornish house again. If anyone is interested in a little holiday in St Ives you can check it out here. It's available from 4th January 2018.



Anyway, domesticated chores wore her out, so before my afternoon walk she had to have a little rest. Actually that's a lie – she's discovered that 1980s editions of Coronation Street are on the TV between 2.45pm and 3.45pm?!



Soooooo................... I didn't get my afternoon walk until 3.45pm. First I went for a play on Porthminster Beach and then I went on a little trek around town to Porthmeor Beach. By the time I got to Porthmeor Beach it was getting dark and the sunset was amazing. I had a very lovely play with a big fluffy German Shepherd dog but do you know what happened next?..............................



…..................Ann walked up the slipway to get off the beach but because I was so busy playing I didn't see where she'd gone. Big fluffy German Shepherd dog went back to his owner and when I looked around I couldn't see Ann. I was a little bit scared. Normally I don't let Ann out of my sight but because it was getting dark I hadn't kept a proper check on her. Ann could see me and apparently she was calling me but I couldn't hear her because I'm going a bit deaf. I'm also going a little bit blind so I ran up to a lady who was wearing the same kind of coat as Ann. …...........But it wasn't Ann so I just stood in the middle of the beach looking confused.



Ann was calling and calling me but I couldn't hear her. I wasn't being naughty. I just didn't know where Ann was. …............And Ann knew I wasn't being naughty so she came to get me. When I saw her approaching me I zoomed up to her in super quick speedy time and she gave me loads of cuddles.



…...................BUT, it's just brought home to us how old I'm getting. I'm thirteen and a half years old. Normally I have my annual check up in January but because we will be in Edinburgh then, I'm going for my check up on Thursday. Ann has made an appointment for me to see the very lovely Jonathan. He is my most favourite vet in the world and Ann is going to ask him lots of questions about the best way to care for an elderly dog.



#itsnofungettingold

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.