Big long walk Sunday

One of the things we are loving most about Edinburgh; is the cheap public transport system and the new and exciting walks that we are discovering.

Today we bought a 'day ticket' for £4 which allows travel all over the place (and gorgeous little collies travel for free). Jumped on a number 23 bus and went to Cannonmills.

While we were waiting for the bus - only 4 mins (Don't you just love 'bus apps'? Technology is so clever!) a strange man started talking to me. I'm not really supposed to talk to strangers but as Ann was with me and I was on my lead so he couldn't kidnap me I thought it was OK. He said that I was the prettiest little dog he had ever seen, so when he wanted me to shake a paw I obliged. Fortunately he didn't get on the No. 23 bus. Ann thought he was a bit drunk and wasn't looking forward to him continuing the conversation on the bus?! But the lady behind us in the queue did. And she thought I was the best behaved dog she had ever seen. She said, 'What a well behaved dog you've got there'. And then when she got off the bus she said to Ann, 'You've done a great job of training that dog. I've never seen such a well behaved dog on a bus before.' Ann was soooooooo, soooooooo proud of me. Yay! We did have a bit more drama on the No. 23 bus though..................... another strange man came and sat next to us and he had the worst BO ever proceeded to tell Ann that his collie had lived till he was 20 years old and he'd lost him last year. And then the conversation somehow turned to politics and he said that Theresa May had taught him in Inverness??? Well Ann doesn't really do politics but she's pretty sure that Theresa May has never, ever, been a teacher in Inverness? And even if she has, the strange man was older than Ann, so it's highly unlikely that Theresa May taught him even if she has been a teacher in Inverness!

Walked along the Waters of Leith from Cannonmills to Inverleith Park and I didn't even attempt to go for a splish, splash, splosh. Not really quite sure why not because it was a really mild day. I just didn't feel like it. Walked round Inverleith Park and did quite a lot of rolling around on my back. It was busy in Inverleith Park but I didn't bother playing with any of the other doggies. I like doing my own thing.

When we came out of Inverleith Park I had to go back on my lead. Walked up to Ferry Road, walked along Ferry Road to Crewe Toll and then I got let off my lead again. Yay!

There is the most fabulous cycle route/walkway from Crewe Toll to Haymarket which we only discovered because Ann likes looking at maps. I think it must have been an old railway line route but it runs for 2-3 miles and it's a fabulous place for a gorgeous little collie to have a walk. And there were quite a few squirrels that needed chasing. Yay!

When we got to Haymarket a tram just happened to be pulling into the station so Ann said, 'Molly, you've never been on a tram. Let's just jump on this tram so I can see how you behave on one.' Sooooo........................ we jumped on the tram which was really, really crowded so we had to stand. Well Ann did. I just sat down beside her legs and everyone was looking at me and smiling. #2ndproudestmomentoftheday for Ann.

Got off the tram at it's terminal and walked down Broughton Street to Canonmills on my lead. Ann hasn't been there for years. It's full of arty farty cafes, bistros, pubs, nice shops, etc. She says she's going to have a proper mooch about there with out me?!

Jumped on a number 36 bus and came home. Very uneventful – no one sat next to us!

And that's been our day.

Happy Sunday Evening Blippers.

Final of the 'Apprentice' tonight. Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.