Plus ça change...

By SooB

Triffid

Yes, I should have a better shot for you today, since I spent in the end quite a lot of time outdoors, but not doing pretty things and not in an environment that suits a camera...

While I was out foraging for groceries, Mr B (working from home today) decided to pop up to the top floor to kindly see if everything was in order for him to help me chop saw the wood for TallGirl's new desk.  The saw was, indeed, fine.  Happily, the workshop clearly has a better bit of roof above it than most of the rest of the attic floor....

So, when I got back, we headed upstairs to see what could be done to fix the leak.  While Mr B tottering around on tiles (trying v hard not to break them), cut bits of lead and rammed them in place to cover all likely zones of ingress; I was mainly in charge of holding things, passing things and muttering encouragement.  However, when my cleaning up skills came into play later, we realised that a lot more of the roof was leaking than just the little bit Mr B had spotted.  We have a terrace up there and, turns out, the concrete is not in a good state.  So, three rooms underneath, and the guest room on the floor below all have water coming in.

The only real way to solve the problem is to get rid of the water off the terrace and thus (at heights that really do not make me comfortable) I set too moving all the junk that is up there and sweeping and scooping up all the water.  I managed to mostly get it done before it was dark, now we just have to hope for a few rain-free days so it can dry out and we can cover it with something.

After all that, down to do battle with a leg of lamb and make a delicious Georgian lamb stew.  Sweet and spicy - perfect for a cold day with more hard labour than I was anticipating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.