Ho! Ho! Ho!

What fun indeed. Here’s the driver of the 19 greeting me down at Granton Square. For I was off up town to have a day of Christmas shopping. First stop the homeware shop in Morningside where I picked up a nutcracker for myself. After that I can say no more, but I thought it was pretty successful. Though showing the haul (as far as could be shown) back at the gaff, eyebrows were raised at the flying pterodactyl kit. Maybe I did stray slightly from my brief.
A bit of wrapping after that and then out to meet my fellow members of the working men’s philosophical society. Of course we discussed matters grave and of great import, though much time was spent discussing how L was accosted by a woman in the Old Toll some years previously who asked him to go and buy her some Trill for her budgie and in return she’d buy him a whisky.
Those were the days, eh? Do people still have budgies? I think everyone’s Granny did. I remember mine shouting for Joey to come down from the pelmet. That’s another thing that’s gone by the board. Anyway, yes, amazingly enough he was fool enough to trot out and buy the Trill. She was probably only wanting to grow grass with it as there was a good amount of hemp seed in there, it was rumoured. Where was I? Oh yes, he never did get the whisky as his nearest showed up just as the transaction was concluding. Such is life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.