Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Moving on up!

Oops - another backblip! It was a miserably wet and overcast day yesterday, creating terrible conditions for both finding and photographing insects. Fortunately, some mini beasts rather like those conditions, especially after dark. So I wrapped up well and ventured out with dog, headtorch and mobile phone camera after dark in the pouring rain (the things I have to do for blipfoto!). This is a beautiful dark-lipped snail (Cepaea nemoralis) that was making its way up a sycamore tree. In fact, the tree was covered in these - I assume they were grazing on the algae growing on the bark of the tree. Incidentally, on another sycamore tree, I also found an earthworm crawling DOWN the trunk, about 1.5 metres above ground. What it was doing up there, I have no idea! There was precious little soil!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.