Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

DNA, not just a load of balls!

We had a great family day out in Edinburgh today, including our daughter's first visit to the National Museum of Scotland in Chambers Street. I spent lots of my childhood there (when it was the Royal Scottish Museum). Then, some years later, I spent the last three years of my marine biology degree course across the street in what was, at that time, a Heriot-Watt University building, and I visited the Museum almost every day. And, as it has turned out, this is my second visit in two days, as I managed a lunchtime visit yesterday on my way to a meeting (see yesterday's blip).

I really like the way it has been modernised, with its new West wing (although I do miss the large galleries of biological specimens that have gone!). And I'm hopeful that the next generation of my family will gain at least as much enjoyment, education and stimulation from the Museum as I have.

Today's blip is from the Museum, of a model of DNA's double-helical structure, the molecule of life and one of the most important discoveries in the history of science (Well, I'm a biologist, so I WOULD say that...).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.