Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Hunting the Higgs Boson - a Nobel Prize-worth!

Backblip. My favourite place in Edinburgh is the National Museum of Scotland in Chambers Street (see tomorrow's blip entry for more on this!). I managed a visit on Thursday, at lunchtime, on my way to a meeting, and visited the Museum's brand-new exhibition about the discovery of the Higgs Boson, the fundamental particle that apparently give the other particles mass. I heard, that morning on the BBC Radio 4 Today programme, a description of the Higgs Bison as 'the stuff that makes stuff stuff'. The Museum is majoring on this as the physicist Peter Higgs, who hypothesized the existence of the Higgs Boson some 50 years ago, is a professor at University of Edinburgh and has, wonderfully, this week co-won the Nobel Prize for Physics. The exhibition is fascinating and even has a Higgs Boson hidden somewhere in the display (I found it. I found the Higgs Boson!). Well done to the Museum. And well done to Professor Higgs, Nobel Laureate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.