?

We hit the supermarket this morning, armed with THE LIST  (the list is king.  No deviations allowed).  

We wander through the fruit and veg section to a soundtrack of Christmas carols and a couple arguing about the sell-by date of their Kiwi fruit.  Not for us this sort of rancour - the list is king.

Anniemay nearly loses it in the baking section - we need a (small) packet of cornflour.  But because it’s Christmas it’s suddenly only available in sizes that cement normally comes in.  We shrug and take comfort in the list.

And then it all goes wrong.  I have no idea what these are; Anniemay mutters something about childhood - “we had these with ….” ( something Northern and incomprehensible…)  I’m not sure if it’s a treat or a punishment. 

I’m also confused by the story on the packaging.  Is Graham unhappy because he’s being forced to eat these things - or is he being forced to work in the family firm? A bit Victorian, but possible I suppose.  I hope he’s retired by now.  He wouldn’t have been able to make a quailty product with an attitude like that.

Anniemay weeps uncontrollably as the memories of childhood tea-times (or some other mealtime - Mollymay might know) come flooding back.  Or perhaps she’s concerned for Graham the child baker.

She begs, I nod and they tumble into the trolley. 

People are staring and I’m forced to buy a box of tissues - another thing not on the list.  In the end I do the decent thing and tear it up.  The king has abdicated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.