Art Gallery

The Art Gallery closed for the controversial renovation project in Spring 2015 and was due to reopen about now. The main external change is the addition of the peculiar copper colour carbuncle on the roof. I might comment that it shows the Aberdeen's propensity for box shape architecture, but on this occasion there is a ski jump incline on the right side of the building. It has recently been announced the opening of the Gallery will be delayed by at least a year to late 2018 or early 2019. The reason for the delay is apparently due to issues arising during the renovation. Perhaps these issues include funding for the project.

More last minute shopping took me to the city centre once again today. The shopping was successful as I got everything I needed including sellotape and glue. All set for some Christmas wrapping now.

The statue on the far right of the photograph shows General Charles Gordon. He has no connection with Aberdeen as far as I know. Interestingly (or not) he and I went to the same school, though not at the same time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.