The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Autumn colour over Butterow/Hill Paul by night

...as seen from the bottom of our garden this morning, when I popped out in my wellies and a few other things for a quick blip. Such a beautiful day it has been! and I have been inside for 99% of it.
Now I must rush off as I have just realised I'm expected for supper elsewhere!
Happy Friday, everyone.

PS Better in LARGE

PPS I have changed the image, as this is one of the first successful night shots I can remember taking. I walked along the canal to my friend's house, and although it was ridiculously dark, and muddy once I got west of the town centre, I enjoyed my adventure, and had a torch, in case. Before I reached the town, I took this shot of the Hill Paul building, which once housed a factory making bespoke suits for Savile Row ( London) clients. It is next to the station, and was left to decay after it closed in 1989, until pieces of masonry started to fall off it. At the time it was under threat of demolition in 2000, it was occupied by rooftop protestors, who then formed a company, bought the building using a huse amount of bluffery, and sold it on to developers, who added the top two penthouse floors, and converted it into apartments. I have written of this elsewhere, but it makes me proud of Stroud, so it's worth repeating. I've never been in this iconic building, but would love to see the view from the uppermost floors! CleanSteve has blipped it by day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.