Leiflife

By Leiflife

Meridian

For me the highest point of my recent journey to Meridian, was meeting and listening to Malcolm Wright, Grandson to the Mississippi born poet, Richard Wright, who fled his Southern home as a young man to live freely and honestly in  Paris. Malcolm spoke gently and openly of his amazing grandfather to an audience that, for the most part, seemed to be moved as profoundly as I was. Hope was definitely in the air at an event that celebrated as many black artists as white. 

With Malcolm is my brother, John, who drove with me and accompanied me throughout the long weekend. He was a gracious and caring companion, and I am grateful. 

Morgan Freeman was not present, as he is working on a movie in London. I was OK with that; there were rich encounters with many marvelous human beings.

The Riley Center Theater was the beautiful building where the awards were ceremoniously handed out. John accepted for our father, Walter Anderson, and spoke beautifully and touchingly of the man, the artist who was rarely present as a father. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.