HarrythePotter

By HarrythePotter

Fake Plastic Tree

I couldn't resist borrowing a Radiohead track title!

This tree welcomes you on entering the night shelter in Winchester and there is another one in the lounge, both of which help to make the place home for the residents.

Tonight I have the honour of filling the volunteer slot titled "Overnighter" and, by doing so, ensure that the facility is open for the 17 residents who currently have a bed here.

It is an honour to be part of this organisation allowing me to do some small bit to help those experiencing homelessness and to meet some of the most gracious, respectful and non judgemental people I have ever met.

Earlier today I became an interpretation of Father Christmas and delivered small tokens of thanks to my customers, I didn't have a sleigh I had a Vauxhall van!

RF and I both attended 2 yoga classes this evening led by our favourite instructor, completely relaxing and spiritually nourishing but unfortunately he is moving on after Christmas. Maybe he will be replaced by someone even better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.