Casablanca, cont’d

Wow! Great to have a good night’s sleep after Thursday’s travel and a hectic week before I left.

Great too seeing the Hassan II Mosque illuminated at 7am and then the daylight gradually appearing around it. The sun was up by 7:30 - fantastic after those long, dark Scottish days.

Then a lazy buffet breakfast in the hotel. I don’t do that often - I prefer the nearest cafe and a croissant. It was included in the room deal, so...

I’ve become a Novotel fan in recent years. Good rooms and (often) good deals, especially if you book (and pay) in advance.

The Casablanca one (where I stayed in 2009 as well) is well located in the city centre, on Blvd Houphouët-Boigny. The address is a bit of a mouthful, however. (Houphouët-Boigny was the first president of Côte d’Ivoire and served - mostly himself - for 30 years.)

My Royal Air Maroc flight to Ouarzazate was at 22:40, so a 12 noon hotel checkout gave me plenty time for some gentle sightseeing. I was tempted by a guided tour of the Mosque, but with bright sunshine and 16-18⁰c for weather, why be inside? Anyway, I have another day in the city on my way home at the end of the month. 

I did a city centre walking tour recommended by my guide book. It was good. The best bit was the law courts. Fascinating for an ex lawyer. I didn’t go into an actual court, but the building and atmosphere were wonderful.

Blipped.  

I loved spending the day just wandering, while taking in the warm winter sun and getting back the atmosphere of the city.  

4⁰c and “brisk” for the midnight arrival in Ouarzazate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.