Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

100 in 582

Today is a day for numbers:

100 little blips released into the wild, and it's only taken 582 days to do it!

It was 377 days ago, that I was feeling a little low, just bumbling along in this little backwater of Essex. Not really achieving anything, not really going anywhere. Mulling over the decision to move on somewhere new and 'start again'.

But 365 of those 377 days since have been some of the happiest of my life.

I'm still in the same shared house and still driving the same car, but a year ago today I met Trotter, and things got good!

She's beautiful, she's smart, she makes me laugh every single day, and she makes a truly amazing burger.

But, things are never that easy and 46 days ago she left Southend to go traveling and working in Australia.

I knew today was coming - the anniversary. And I knew that this blip would be my 100th, so I knew what the subject would be, but what I wasn't expecting was to come home after a rough day at work and find a jigsaw waiting for me on the radiator!

The handwriting was familiar, but the Dingo on the stamp gave it away: This little packet had come a long way!

55 hour working week forgotten, I tipped out the 19 assorted pieces on to the kitchen counter with a smirk on my face - I'm a technical wiz - spatial awareness is my 'thing'.

This'll be easy.

20 minutes later, I'm still there - the smirk of anticipation has been replaced by a different smirk. One that says "am I REALLY still trying to work this out?!"

Finally, it came together, and (more by luck than judgment?!) Trotter had timed the arrival of the best little letter I've ever had!

One problem though.

The sense of satisfaction evaporated as one more challenge presented itself- how to read what's written on the back without breaking it!?

Thank you Shorty - wish me luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.