Plus ça change...

By SooB

Stairmaster?

So very cold today. Managed a quick walk around the old ruined St Andrew's Church in Gullane. Lovely light on the building but I didn't really end up with anything I was so happy with. I thought the shapes in this view out of the church over the war memorial were interesting though, so that's your lot.

Old as I am (I referred to myself as middle-aged the other day and it only felt a little bit odd....) I can still be surprised from time to time. Mostly I am surprised by my own stupidity.

Today, just for example, I needed to print some little photos out for Conor. Earlier in the day I had crashed my computer trying to print a pdf file for Mr B. Of course the document was stuck in the evil Vista print queue, never to be removed even when I turn off the printer, computer and hub, wait 10 minutes and then turn them all back on. So today I learned more than I should really need to know about the 'cmd.exe' thingy. I must have done something bad with it though, because now although the evil pdf file has gone, I can't print anything.

Not stupid enough for you yet?

Well, my computer is in the living room (in front of the telly and handy for the kettle). The printer is up many, many, many stairs in Mr B's office. I have been up and down those stairs about 74 times today: turning the printer off and on, checking if it was printing, putting the right paper in, pressing its little buttons hopefull. It was only when I gave up on ever printing ever again (about 10 minutes ago) and retired to the sofa to put this blip on, that I remembered that my computer is, of course, a laptop and I could have just taken it upstairs.

Doh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.