Plus ça change...

By SooB

Learning in the dark

Spoilt myself with two accidental photography outings today. Today is Mad Thursday, when the kids have all their extra-curricula activities in the one afternoon, but I had all the rest of the world offering to help me out so was free from 4-5pm. Decided to have a little spontaneous walk up Berwick Law to look at the sunset. (Where this view over towards Fife was taken.)

After dropping Katherine off at her final class of the day (why is everything good on a Thursday?) I spent some quality time (?) with my tripod in the middle of the playing fields doing long-exposure night shots.

Here's what I learned today:

1. 2 inch heeled shboots are better on limestone escarpments than slippery East Lothian volcano stubs.

2. Climbing a very steep hill in heels to watch a sunset is all very well. Descending after sundown is trickier.

3. Night photography requires the following: torch, gloves, hat.

I've put a couple of the night shots on flickr here and here. I'd be very grateful for feedback from any nighthawks on how to do this properly. (I know a less windy night would help a bit!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.