creative lenna

By creativelenna

For my mom

I made this bracelet to give to my mom on Christmas! It is 'memory wire' that I strung various beads onto. The little wooden elephant charm was part of an old earring. Some of the beads were taken from a necklace I found at the Thrift shop! The little wooden beads were just perfect for this. I bought it knowing I would take it apart one day. I really did enjoy making this bracelet and I know mom will love it too.

This is the only present I have prepared this holiday season -- strange, but true! I have written a couple of cards, sent an email letter or two, but we're really not into celebrating very much these days. We'll enjoy seeing my mom on Christmas, taking a walk, and having a meal with her. That will be lovely! I'm making a stew to bring over on Christmas day so she doesn't have to cook. I've heard mom is making desert!

I am pretty sure at another time I might be more into some thoughtful gift giving again. Things have been different since my dad passed away 6 years ago. Both me and my mom and Steve too, are definitely not enthusiastic about big holiday celebrations with lots of presents . . . When I was raising my 2 boys this was a completely different scene. And this year has also been rough as far as I'm concerned with our current administration. I've had to work hard to keep my usual happy outlook. Trying stay positive amongst all the upheaval and controversy has been difficult. I've done it, but it has not been easy.

But, things do change. They were different before and I'm sure they will be different again. I don't worry too much about it, I just kind of observe and watch what's happening I'll try to be kind to myself and say, 'Hey! That's okay'. Many of my friends would LOVE to have such a simple & relaxed holiday! So I think I'll just enjoy it. My very best wishes to you and yours! ♡♡♡

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.