Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Pollyanna rides the wave

The day dawned sunny and that helped. The machine had fallen asleep overnight which is why, when it woke up to find how little it had achieved, it estimated several days to finish the task, but once it had had a cup of coffee and rubbed its weary little eyes a bit, the estimated time to finish was reducing. Exponentially. – Hurrah!
We had received by email the car tax document for Julia, the blue car, but not for Chi-Chi, the white one which means that Chi-Chi must have been successfully deregistered before the Govt. cut-off date – Hurrah!
I went in to Glossa to pay for and collect the car insurance document for Julia (the blue car, and now the only car) thus ensuring no nasty scorpion-like fine as threatened six months ago – Hurrah!
In so doing I learned that Adonis from Cyclades has rallied and is at home and fighting back – Hurrah!
Because it was sunny I went to retake some photos of an orange grove I took the other day and oranges look better in the sunshine – Hurrah!
There was space in the bottle bank for my two full sacks of previously hoarded but now discarded jam jars – Hurrah!
I took another two full sacks of other recycling to the recycling centre – Hurrah!
Outside the medical centre I saw a twinkly-shiny brand new ambulance and stopped to photograph that too – Hurrah!
I remembered to buy Stilton – Hurrah!
I was shown where to find some smoked salmon in a supermarket freezer cabinet (??) – Hurrah!
And on my way home again I stopped at Kastani beach to see what is happening to the previous dreadful development. It's all been bulldozed and I don't know what will happen next but the sea was doing this and was this colour so I photographed it – Hurrah!
When I got home the PC had finished examining its own navel and had found only fluff, so that means that while Spousie (who may or may not be re-branded as Cap'n Haddock) is fixing plasterboard sheets upstairs I can justify spending hours and hours at the PC constructing brand new spreadsheets from bank account downloads – Hurrah!
Yes a lot of useful information is gone forever, but hey, it's really just a drop in the ocean.
And we can watch films over Xmas! – Hurrah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.