WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

End of the road

We seem to have instigated a tradition of a Christmas walk. Today's weather forecast was better than tomorrow's -- blue sky, no wind -- so we decided to bring it forward a day. Another nascent tradition seems to be finding an old wreck for the occasion, so here's another one.

Back in March we went for a lovely walk around Coustouge. We noted at the time that there was another circuit round the neighbouring village of Jonquières, so we decided to try that today. The village isn't nearly as pretty as Coustouge, and the walk was a bit dull -- although I dare say it's better in spring when there must be wild flowers in abundance. Still, it was good to be out in the open air on a balmy day, and I do need to get into training for my next walking adventure. I've hardly walked anywhere since the summer. Also we got to drive along some roads that I am sure we've never driven along in the 20 years we've been living here.

Back home, a splendid apero featuring cava, and then my first attempt at spaghetti con vongole with the small and very expensive clams I bought in Narbonne yesterday ... not bad at all. We had half a bottle of Rioja left over from Wednesday night, and some rock-hard pears, so yesterday evening I combined the two on top of the woodburner with sugar, a vanilla pod, and a cinnamon stick. They made a very lovely dessert this evening with a scoop of ice cream. I hope you enjoy your day as much as we did, blipmates!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.