WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Baking day

I had a plan for today. After breakfast I made some crèmes au muscat (prunes already done and waiting in the larder). Then I made a velouté aux topinambours (more prosaically known as Jerusalem artichoke soup), inspired by Franck Putelat. I was delighted with the result, exactly what I wanted. Now in the fridge awaiting tomorrow. Next up: some mini financiers to use up spare egg whites (not all of them, there are still four lurking in the fridge). These turned out beautifully too; I made them in mini muffin moulds so they are just the right size for serving with coffee, and jazzed them up with home-preserved cherries. Recipe on blog soon.

And finally, I made 36 sourdough blini. We will shortly be eating some of them with the smoked salmon we bought in les Halles, along with dollops of crème fraiche and a lovely muscat sec (3 euros a bottle from Lidl -- I have stocked up!). To follow: cheese, mince pies and more cream, and financiers if we are still hungry. Yes, for the first time in well over ten years we are spending Christmas at home! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.