Any one for a swim

Its a tradition down here to go for a swim on Christmas Day at 10.00am.  Well there was no way I would go for a swim as I have only been in the sea once locally, it has to be a very hot day for me to get in.  I have however been to see this tradition before.  Today I decided to arrive a little earlier since last year they started a few minutes early!  I was amazed at the number of people heading through the town for the beach, I suppose in the old days they would have all been going to church. There must have been well over a hundred spectators.  The tide was in, the sea was very rough, at least it wasn't raining and the lifeboat was close by.  Then very quickly the coats were abandoned and the swimmers made a dash for the sea with quite a number swimming for over five minutes.

Then it was back home to cook a festive late lunch.  A lovely day, I hope you are all enjoying your Christmas Day's to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.