Bank Holiday traditions

We travelled up to Lyndhurst to say hello to my sister in law and family - they are staying in a dog friendly hotel.

Lots of people were heading to “Bolton’s Bench” where the New Forest Hunt was meeting. We went along. Magnificent horses, a big pack of Fox Hounds, a big crowd, and lots of colour.

This chap gave a speech. I couldn’t hear much of it, but I heard him saying they have existed for 241 years, and he talked about the iniquities of the hunting ban which a lot of those present are hoping this parliament will repeal.

It was not the occasion for me to say that I agree with the ban and think the law should stay as it is. I have no problem with the tradition if it revolves around proper drag or trail hunting.

But this remains an issue and a tradition which clearly generates strong emotions on both sides (although I have always thought there are much bigger conservation issues around which people do not get so concerned about).

From this point we set off on a really good circular walk through the Forest and it’s heathlands. The ground was very damp.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.