Lali's World

By Lali

Mike's Christmas open mic

This was Christmas eve. I know I'm a bit late posting this but, for some strange reason, I couldn't upload any photos in here. A glitch of some sort, I guess....

Anyway, I was working on Christmas eve. It was an unexpectedly busy day, as we had a family of about twenty people coming in for lunch. We somehow managed with the reduced amount of staff we had. I was knackered by the end of my shift.

In the evening Scott and I went to the Christmas open mic that Mike Bowden was hosting at the Boathouse. I was not sure whether to sing as, first of all, I'd been having a dry cough and a head cold for the last few days and I didn't trust my voice. Secondly, my acoustic guitar can't be plugged in. My friend Clive suggested I bring it in and put a microphone on the guitar, so that's what I did. Yes, in the spirit of Christmas, I decided to play and sing. I did better with the chords this time, but my voice was not the best. I also kept speeding up out of nerves, which didn't help the two guys that were playing with me. Oh well, just need to practice a bit more... The most horrific moment was when I was finishing singing Silent Night. I sang a version where I just did the first verse in three languages: first in German, second in English and third in Catalan. It was when I started singing the Catalan verse that the whole pub went silent! Everybody was listening. I went into a panic and my voice started quivering more than usual, but sort of managed to finish the song. After my performance I just wanted to hide...

Anyway, back home, had some food and went to bed.

Off at Christmas and Boxing day! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.