Clanging sirens of doom

I drove to Shrewsbury for the annual (except last year when I was in Cambodia) shopping trip with Han and Malesi. The original of Do They Know It's Christmas played on the radio. Let's not get into the cultural inaccuracies of that song, as in fact Africans have a right old knees up at Christmas time, but it is still decent to sing at a high volume. I had to temper the enthusiasm as I was behind a police van most of the way and was careful not to appear too 'into the music' behind the wheel, lest I be accused of driving without due care and attention.

Contrasting Shrewsbury with Newcastle the other day, they couldn't be more different. Shrews is vibrant and flourishing. 'Castle is really struggling. I bought a navy blue blazer for work meetings in case I am ever needed to be smart, which at the moment entails a frantic fruitless search through the wardrobe.

In the evening, tasty roast lamb and wrestling with the dog. Mother had to be ordered to bed after food as she was steadfastly undertaking chores whilst barely being able to stand up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.