The Crittergators: High Atop Mount Fudgy-Moto

I told you the story of how we finally made it to visit my family for Christmas on the day after. What I did not mention is the number of foods I managed to to bring along home with us. Let us list them here: leftover chicken, gravy, the last tiny bit of my Mom's stuffing, pickled eggs, apples. And oh yes, don't forget the fudge!

My mother makes awesome fudge, but only on very special occasions such as Christmas. Every year, we swipe some and bring it along home to eat later. This year, the fudge lasted a grand total of about 26 hours. That may be some kind of a record.

Fortunately, I was wise enough to document my mother's fudge for posterity before it got eaten. Above you may see it: several pieces of million dollar (chocolate) fudge, and just two of Grandma Colyer's peanut butter fudge. You may note that one quite small piece in the front left; it was, of course, the first to go. Best thing for it, really.

I will include the recipes for both types of fudge below, so don't worry, you can try your hand at making some if you're feeling brave. Fudge can make a mess, though, so you've been warned.

I have only attempted fudge myself one time. About two years ago, I made my first-ever batch of the peanut butter kind, and it turned out splendidly, just like little-old-lady fudge. It was a big hit at our house, but I've never made it since.

This time, I brought my mother's fudge along with us in a paper dish, tucked in a baggie. Isn't that how the best leftovers travel? And on this morning, I pulled that fudge out, and put it on a small green plate (the free kind they used to put in with the oatmeal, I think, back in the good old days).

And then those festive creatures, those Crittergators, scaled that fudge, and posed, as you see them above, high atop Mount Fudgy-Moto! What brave Crittergators! The view from there was fantastic, as you might imagine!

The soundtrack: Climb Every Mountain, from the Sound of Music.

And now the recipes . . .

Grandma Colyer's Peanut Butter Fudge
2 boxes confectioner's sugar
1 cup milk
12 oz. creamy peanut butter
7 oz. marshmallow creme
Cook confectioner's sugar and milk until it forms a soft ball in cold water. Then add peanut butter and marshmallow creme and mix it up well. Smoosh it down into a 9" by 13" pan. Hide it from the kids. :-)

Million Dollar Fudge
4.5 cups granulated sugar
1 can evaporated milk
1.5 cup butter
Boil 10 minutes.
Add 3 packages chocolate chips (18 oz).
1 jar marshmallow creme
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 cup nuts, if desired
Stir until chips are melted. Pour into buttered pan. Hide fudge from relatives!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.